Source Testing Association

What's New

Water Monitoring Assocation is a division of the STA


The Source Testing Association (STA) is a non-profit making technical trade association which was established in 1995 and has a corporate membership of over 200 companies from process operators, regulators, equipment suppliers and test laboratories.

The STA is committed to the advancement of the science and practice of emission monitoring and to develop and maintain a high quality of service to customers.

Aims and objectives:

  • contribute to the development of industry standards, codes, safety procedures and operating principles;

  • encourage the personal and professional development of practicing source testers and students;

  • maintain a body of current sampling knowledge;

  • assist in maintenance of a high level of ethical conduct;

  • seek co-operative endeavours with other professional organisations, institutions and regulatory bodies, nationally and internationally, that are engaged in source emissions testing.

The Associations headquarters are based in Hitchin, Hertfordshire with meeting rooms, library and administration offices.

The Association offers a package of benefits to its members which include:

Various task groups have been set up to address technical issues that arise from the members. Every two years the membership elects the board of directors who act as Chairman for the various task groups. The groups, which meet at regular intervals, include;

Stack Emission Monitoring (Quality and Technical)

Chairman          Kevin Blakley NPL (Quality)/ Richard Harvey RPS (Technical)

Process Operators Task Group

Chairman           Paul Firth - Tarmac

Health and Safety Task Group

Chairman           Stuart Rowbotham - PCME

Equipment Suppliers Task Group

Chairman           Andy Curtis - OSS UK

Stack Testing Task Group

Chairman           Jonathan Spence - Uniper

Small Business Task Group

Chairman           Roger Brown - OES

Publicity Task Group

Chairman           Marcus Pattison - IET

The current Chairman of the Source Testing Association is Mark Elliott - Exova Catalyst and the Chairman Elect Stewart Davies - Viridor

Contact details


Unit 9, Knowl Piece Business Centre,
Knowl Piece,
Wilbury Way,
Herts SG4 0TY


+44(0) 1462 457535


+44(0) 1462 457157


General enquiries:


Technical support:




Last modified: June 18, 2018

New Page 1