Golden Stack Award

What's New


Follow us on:

Water Monitoring Assocation is a division of the STA


  Untitled Document

Description: Golden stack

The STA “Golden Stack Award” is awarded every two years to the process operator who, in the opinion of our members, has made significant efforts to ensure the safety, welfare and comfort of stack testers in the field. It is hoped that this award will act as a driver to improve conditions on site for stack testers.

Click here for application form. - Nominations should be submitted by 21 April 2017 to

Qualifying Criteria

Minimum standards of safety, facilities and sampling arrangements are laid down in law or in guidance, such as the Environment Agency’s M1 and our own “yellow booklet”.  All process operators should be complying with these as a minimum. Operators not meeting these standards are not eligible for the award.
The award is designed to recognise those operators who have gone the extra mile to protect and assist our members in their work on site, which is often carried out in demanding and uncomfortable conditions.

Award has been given to;

2002 Hanson Brick, Stewartby, Bedfordshire
Golden Stack 2002

2004 SITA, Huddersfield
Golden Stack 2004
2005 Lafarge, Cookstown
Golden Stack 2005

2007 Veolia, Sheffield
Golden Stack 2007
2009 Rugeley Power, Rugeley, Staffs
Golden Stack 2009

2011 Rockwool and Midland Lead
Golden Stack 2011

2013 Tata Steel
Golden Stack 2013

2015 E.ON, Blackburn Meadows, Sheffield
Golden Stack 2015